Adult Recognition Awards

50 Years of Service

Matthew J.Linkel2001Presented by Conewago District
Earl HertzEarned in 2014Presented by Troop 103 – June 16,2018
Richard E. CrouseEarned in 2017Presented by Troop 103 – June 16, 2018
Keneth E. ZinnEarned in 2017Presented by Troop 103 – June 16, 2018
William KleinEarned in 2021To be Presented by Troop 103 – 2022

Service to the Troop

Silver Beaver Award

Established in 1931, the Silver Beaver Award is presented for distinguished service to young people within a BSA local council. A recipient must be a registered adult member of the BSA. The awards are bestowed at appropriate local functions. Silver Beaver Awards are presented on the basis of the number of units in a council.

1997Dennis W. Kelly
1988Richard E. Crouse
1987Loretta M. Sellman
1956Nicholas D. Murphy
1949Charles L. Weaver

District Award of Merit

The award is available to Scouters who render service of an outstanding nature at the district level.

The award is made available annually on the basis of 1 for each 25 traditional units or fraction thereof. The district need not present

all the awards to which it is entitled each year.

1949Nicholas D. MurphyTroop 103 SM
1949Walter Blettner103 ?
1964Lawrence H. CumminsTroop 103
1965John H. Riley
1977Dr. Henry Hoffacker103 ?
1982William A. Klein, Jr.Troop 103
1983John MarkleTroop 103
1984Loretta M. SellmanPack 103 CM
1985Richard E. CrouseTroop 103
1988Matt LinkelTroop 103
1989Frank W. SandersTroop 103
1990Earl H. HertzTroop 103
1992Kenneth ZinnTroop 103
1993Richard P. ArigoTroop 103
1994Mary BohrerPack 103 CM
2001Steve BakerDistrict
2002Peter B. Slusser, Jr.Troop 103
2003Andrew J. GroftTroop 103 SM
2003John E. HelfrickTroop 103
2008Richard C. SlusserTroop 103
2015Jeff RosenzweigTroop 103
2018Robert L. ZinnTroop 103

District Service Award

The award is available to Scouters who render exemplary service at the district level.


1962Lawrence H. CumminsTroop 103
1965Charolette WolfePack 103
1966Mary Jane HenryPack 103
1969Nancy CrousePack 103
1970Germanus OrndorffPack 103
1972Mary Jane HenryPack 103
1977John Markle, Jr.Pack 103
1979Loretta M. SellmanPack 103
1979William A. Klein, Jr.District
1980Linda LivelsbergerPack 103
1980Russell H. ZimmermanTroop 103
1982Thomas O’ HaraTroop 103
1985Frank W. SandersTroop 103
1986Rita ElliotPack 103
1988Steve A. SabakaPack 103
1989John HicksTroop 103
1991Dennis W. KellyTroop 103
1995John KrugerPack 103
1997Carl M. CessnaTroop 103
1997Gail KrugerPack 103
1997Peter B. Slusser, Jr.Pack 103
1998Anthony A. SmithPack 103
1998John Curt HooperTroop 118
1998John E. HelfrickPack 103
1998Thomas A. StaubPack 103
1999Charles A. GrovePack 103
1999John B. ZinnPack 103
2000David E. SmithPack 103
2001Andy J. GroftTroop 103
2001Pete MonaghanTroop 103
2008Jeffrey A. RosenzweigTroop 103
2008Robert L. ZinnTroop 103

St. George Adult Recognition Award

  • The National Catholic Committee on Scouting┬«, acting through the local diocese or eparchy, may award the St. George emblem to members of the laity and clergy, Scouters and non-Scouters alike, who have made significant and outstanding contributions to the spiritual development of Catholic youths through Scouting.
  • The recipients of the emblem are to be sought after and selected by an active committee of the (arch)diocese/eparchy. This committee is to be newly-appointed each year by the diocesan Scout chaplain or chairperson.
  • Nomination forms should give a detailed description of how the nominee provides outstanding contribution to the spiritual development of Catholic youths through Scouting in the Catholic Church. It is improper to nominate oneself or one’s spouse.
  • General Scouting achievements do not qualify a person to receive the St. George emblem. The Boy Scouts of America has district, council, regional and national awards for such recognition.


1979Richard E. Crouse
1990Earl H. Hertz
1981George L. Hoke
1992William A. Kline, Jr.
1992Francis W. Sanders
1994Loretta M. Sellman
1981Russell H. Zimmerman

BSA Lifeguard

  • To recognize Boy Scouts and Venturers age 15 and older, and adult volunteers who have successfully completed the BSA Lifeguard course and demonstrated the ability to perform each of the skills taught in the course.


1978Robert L. Zinn

Memorial Mall at Camp Tuckahoe

The following individuals have been honored at the Camp Tuckahoe Memorial Mall

4/14/1935Louis Smith Jr.Scout – Second Class Rank
7/25/1959Robert C. MyersCouncil Executive Board
7/11/1964John L. RattiScout – Second Class Rank
7/13/1968Thomas B. MurphyScoutmaster
7/10/1971Lawrence H. CumminsCommittee Member
7/8/1983William E. Rhodes Jr.Committee Member
7/10/19876/16/1986David E. SandersScout – Star Rank
7/10/199212/26/1991Norbert G. NeidererCommittee Member
7/16/199311/20/1992Russell H. ZimmermanCommittee Member
7/8/19944/14/1994George L. HokeCommittee Member
7/11/199710/5/1996Jonathan L. GroftScout – Eagle Rank
7/11/19973/29/1997Laddie J. MarchioScouting Coordinator
7/12/20023/14/2002Henry J. SnyderCommittee Member
7/9/20048/27/2003Loretta M. SellmanCommittee Member
7/13/20072/13/2007Dennis W. KellyCommittee Member
7/8/201611/8/2015Robert (Toby) CrookScoutmaster
8/14/20218/12/2019Earl HertzTroop Committee Member, Cub Pack Master